Roses and Dragonfly Thank You For A Smile Card for GDP#075

Anna’ Stampin’ Cave – Roses and Dragonfly Thank You For A Smile Card for GDP#075

gdp075

Hello and welcome everyone! Today I’ve got for you a card I created for this week’s Global Design Project theme challenge: Winged Creatures. I’m bit late to the party but thankfully not too late 😉

I’m a big fan of detailed die-cutting and had this idea bouncing around in my head for a while now, just never had enough time to try it.

In this card, I’ve incorporated two die-cutting techniques – inlaid die-cutting and partial die-cutting – using a couple of detailed die sets: Rose Garden Thinlits Dies and Detailed Dragonfly Thinlits Dies.

anna-stampin-cave-stampin-up-dragonfly-dreams-bundle-and-rose-garden-thinlits-dies-inlaid-partial-die-cutting-technique

Roses and Dragonfly Thank You For A Smile Card dimensions:

  • Sweet Sugarplum cardstock: 11-6/8″ x 4-1/8″ scored in half at 5-7/8″ (29.7 x 10.5 cm scored in half at 14.8 cm)
  • Whisper White cardstock cut into two panels: bottom one measure 5-6/8″ x 4″ (14,5 x 10,2 cm) and top one 5-1/2″ x 3-7/8″ (14 cm x 9,8 cm)
  • Blooms & Bliss Designer Series Paper: 5-1/2″ x 3-7/8″ (14 cm x 9,8 cm)

anna-stampin-cave-stampin-up-dragonfly-dreams-bundle-rose-garden-thinlits-dies-inlaid-partial-die-cutting-technique

To create my card I started with die-cutting.

I wanted this small dragonfly to be in the foreground of my die-cut panel so  I run it through my Big Shot first.

For this technique, you first want to die-cut the image you want to have in the foreground of your card and you work your way backwards. Everything you die-cut later will appear to be ‘behind’ this first image.

Once it has been die-cut, I removed the dragonfly die and die-cut and I placed the rose die on the panel. I placed it the way that some parts of the die overlapped the negative space where dragonfly was die-cut previously from.

anna-stampin-cave-stampin-up-dragonfly-dreams-bundle-and-rose-garden-thinlits-dies

Again, I run it through the Big Shot and very carefully removed my rose die-cut from the die, being careful not to loose all the separate pieces as I will need them all to inlaid them back to my panel. I die-cut two more partial roses (one at a time) from the same panel, every time making sure they overlap the space of a previously die-cut image and saving all the little die-cut pieces. I arranged all my die-cut on the desk, so I knew

Once all the images were die-cut, I adhered what was left of the panel to the Blooms & Bliss DSP piece. And now the fun began: I had to inlay all the die-cut outlines where they came from.

anna-stampin-cave-stampin-up-dragonfly-dreams-bundle-and-rose-garden-thinlits-dies-inlaid-partial-die-cutting-technique

The easiest part was to inlay the dragonfly outline. From there, I worked my way through the roses in the same order I die-cut them. Once I was done, I matted my detailed panel with slightly bigger Whisper White piece and next mounted it onto my Sweet Sugarplum card base.

I masked bottom part of the sentiment ‘Thanks for the smile and everything else’, stamped it on a strip of Whisper White cardstock in Basic Black Archival Ink and cut it into a banner. I also cut a banner from Sweet Sugarplum cardstock and adhered them both to my card, offsetting slightly.

anna-stampin-cave-stampin-up-dragonfly-dreams-bundle-and-rose-garden-thinlits-dies-inlaid-partial-die-cutting-technique

I was pretty happy with the outcome but I had a feeling that something was missing. So I masked the detailed part and all the edges of my card, and I added some tiny speckles in Basic Black and Sweet Sugarplum. Few rhinestones wrap up my card.

I hope you feel inspired and that you give this technique a go. As always, if you wish to purchase any of products I have used, simply click the images below to go directly to my online store and don’t forget to enter the hostess code for the month of February G3JKVASG to receive a gift from me.

Thank you for stopping by and have a blessed day,

signature

Don’t forget to check:

new-sale-a-bration-items

The New Stampin’ Up! Spring/Summer 2017 Catalogue and Sale-A-Bration is LIVE and it’s AMAZING! For every £45 you spend, you will get to choose one FREE product from SAB brochure! And now there’s even more, to choose from! Click here for more details–>

Image

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stampinwithlisablog
    Feb 24, 2017 @ 15:39:24

    Any chance you will do a video for this technique? Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Paula Dobson
    Feb 24, 2017 @ 19:26:17

    Wow Anna, this is just beautiful. I love the mix of dies you used, they are perfect together! Thanks for playing at Global Design Project with us this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Theresa O'Connell
    Feb 24, 2017 @ 21:13:29

    Anna this is such a gorgeous card and a very clever technique! I LOVE it, and will definitely give it a try. TFS. Good luck in the GDP. X

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Cheryll Miller
    Feb 26, 2017 @ 21:44:41

    Hi Anna … what an interesting technique with the dies! The end result is very stunning! Thanks for sharing … will look forward to trying it out! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. gsperringblog
    Mar 03, 2017 @ 00:59:10

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow Anna' Stampin' Cave on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 232 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 78,089 hits

Disclaimer

All content on this blog is the the property of Anna Krol, Stampin' Up! Independent Demonstrator. Classes, services and products offered here are not endorsed by Stampin' Up! Projects, photos, ideas and articles are shared for personal use only and may not be removed duplicated, or copied without permission.
