Something Old, Something New…Kind Koala Birthday Card

Anna’ Stampin’ Cave – Something Old, Something New…Kind Koala Birthday Card

Kind koala 5

Hello, everyone! Something old, something new…Today I’ve got for you really adorable birthday card using sadly retiring Kind Koala stamp, and also a sneak peek from new Annual Catalogue: Labeler Alphabet stamp set.

onstage prize patrol

If you follow my blog you know I’ve won this stamp set in Prize Patrol at OnStage Local. And I absolutely love it! We had many alphabet sets so far, but what’s very special about this set is the fact that it has multiple letters: e.g. you’ve got three A’s, three L’s, three O’s, etc. So you can actually stamp the whole word in one go. Isn’t it just awesome?! 🙂

But enough of my ramblings, here’s the card:

Kind koala

Isn’t this little koala cutest ever!? Such a shame it’s retiring. The base of my card is standard, top folded A6 in Sahara Sand. For the background panel I’ve used Very Vanilla and dry embossed it with Happy Heart embossing folder.

Because I wanted this card to be a birthday card I used washi tape to cover the flower and a sentiment before I inked the stamp in Basic Grey Archival Ink. Next I stamped my cute koala on a piece of Very Vanilla. Just remember to take off the washi tape first or you will have a disaster. Guess how I know 😉 I also stamped him on a piece of paper to create a mask I will need later.

Kind koala 4

I watercolour my little fella in Sahara Sand and added a some shadow underneath him. I also added a touch of Blushing Bride to his nose and inside of his ears. When I was happy with the results I masked my koala and sponged the background with Soft Sky and Pool Party. Then I used the aqua painter to add few droplets of water to the background and took off a little bit of the colour.

Kind koala 2

Next I matted my koala panel with piece of vellum and slightly bigger piece of Sahara Sand. But to add some more interest to SS panel I stamped it with Tip Top Taupe using the foliage stamp from Sheltering Tree. I assembled all my panels.Now was time for balloons!

Kind koala 5

I stamped three smaller ballons from Balloon Celebration, two in Pool Party and one in Soft Sky, punch them with Balloon Bouquet punch and arrange them on the card using dimensionals. I also hand-drew balloon strings with Project Life pen (and yes, I know, I probably should have used lighter colour, maybe Basic Grey or Smoky Slate marker) so it looks like koala is holding them in his paw.

kind koala 3

The card was busy enough so I kept the sentiment simple. I cut a strip of Very Vanilla and stamped my sentiment in Sahara Sand, using Labeler Alphabet stap set. To keep it fun I mixed both type of letters and add it slightly twisted to my card.

Kind koala 6

Dimensions:

Very Vanilla:

  • 3-1/8 x 4-6/8″
  •  2 x 3-2/8″
  • 1/2 x 3-5/8″

Sahara Sand:

  • 2-2/8 x 3-4/8″

Vellum:

  • 2-1/8 x 3-3/8″

I’m adding my card to

Do you like my little card? I truly hope you do 🙂 Please let me know in the comments below. As always, if you wish to purchase any of the products I have used, simply click the images below to go directly to my online shop and don’t forget to enter the hostess code for the month of May 3UV3NNDH. Check the details below or please read here…

Thank you for stopping by and have a blessed day,

signature

Don’t forget to check:

farewell

It’s that time of the year again when Stampin’ Up! is getting ready to retire stamps and accessories from both the Annual and Spring Summer catalogues. As sad as it is to see these products go, there’s still time for you to get them before they’re gone. Retiring products will only be available until 31 May, or while supplies last. So if there’s something from retiring products on your wishlist, don’t wait until last day – once they’re gone, they’re gone. And they are selling fast! Check the retiring products HERE

monthly special

FREE GIFT FROM ME! RHINESTONE BASIC JEWELS.

My exclusive special offer this month only, available on qualifying orders (check below) placed through my online store.

rhinestone basic jewels

How it works…

  1. Place an order of £45 or more (excl. shipping) in my online store. Don’t forget to check the Stampin’ Up! Clearance Rack,Retiring Products and Specially Priced Bundles for extra savings.
  2. Add Hostess Code 3UV3NNDH. It’s very important: To claim your reward you must include this code in your ordering process. Once your order goes through it can’t be changed. If your order is over £150 (excl. shipping) please do not use Hostess Code – you will qualify for freebies automatically as well as earn Host Rewards.
  3. This May Special Offer will be applied to all qualifying orders placed through me using Hostess Code 3UV3NNDH  between 1 May – 31 May.
  4. Your reward will be mailed separately from any order (it won’t arrive with your Stampin’ Up! order) and should arrive in first 2 weeks of June.

hostess code

One more thing! Make sure you select YES to allow me to contact you and send a gift. If you select “No Contact” I do not have access to your name and won’t be able to send you a gift!

Allowing contact box

 

Image

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thepaperhavenblog
    May 15, 2016 @ 16:31:28

    So very sweet!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Pat
    May 15, 2016 @ 17:31:35

    Great card, cute image, thanks for sharing at Alphabet Challenge.

    Pat xx

    Like

    Reply

  3. Sharon
    May 15, 2016 @ 20:52:19

    Love this card! I just bought this little guy and so happy to have a cute idea to change the sentiment. Thank you!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Christine Blain
    May 16, 2016 @ 08:22:22

    This is just delightful, Anna! I love the soft colours you’ve used, and the way you’ve so wholeheartedly embraced our “masking” challenge at Just Add Ink! Thanks for playing along with us this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. Jan M
    May 16, 2016 @ 11:21:03

    This is so pretty Anna! I love how you’ve put the balloon strings in the koala’s paws – so cute! Such beautiful colouring and your background and water droplets have a lovely effect. Thanks for sharing with us at Just Add Ink this week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  6. Tammy A
    May 16, 2016 @ 20:54:51

    Adorable card and gorgeous colors, I love that little koala bear! Thanks for joining us at Alphabet Challenge Blog.
    Tammy x

    Like

    Reply

  7. Lori
    May 17, 2016 @ 02:22:55

    Aww, too sweet! Love the way you colored the image and the fabulous background you created for it. Thanks for joining us for this week’s Color Throwdown!

    Like

    Reply

  8. Kim Badelt
    May 17, 2016 @ 10:57:45

    I love your idea of changing out the flower for a bunch of balloons Anna! They suit the koala perfectly and make him perfectly festive! Thanks for joining us at Just Add Ink this week.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Di Barnes
    May 18, 2016 @ 06:02:40

    Glad you could play along with us at Just Add Ink this week, Anna. Your little koala is adorable & I love that you gave him a bunch of balloons – who doesn’t love balloons. You’re so lucky to have won the alphabet too – it looks awesome here – did you manage to stamp the happy birthday in one go? If so it’s going up my list of must-haves 🙂
    Di 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • Anna's Stampin' Cave
      May 18, 2016 @ 21:51:22

      Thank you so much Di x I actually haven’t stamp it in one go because only the regular letters comes as multiples, and I wanted to mix both together, so I didn’t have two square”P’s” to use xx

      Like

      Reply

  10. stamplicious
    May 18, 2016 @ 21:13:12

    Oh I love this little guy! You’ve created such a sweet card – great job of masking. Thanks for joining us at JAI this week!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow Anna' Stampin' Cave on WordPress.com

Anna’s Stampin’ Cave

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 223 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 69,904 hits

Disclaimer

All content on this blog is the the property of Anna Krol, Stampin' Up! Independent Demonstrator. Classes, services and products offered here are not endorsed by Stampin' Up! Projects, photos, ideas and articles are shared for personal use only and may not be removed duplicated, or copied without permission.
