Simply Sketched Saturday Challenge Blog Hop #2 – Peaceful Pines

SSSC Header

Thank you for joining us for another Simply Sketched Saturday Challenge!  We’re a so excited to be sharing this hop with you. The products used are all available in the current Annual, or seasonal, Stampin’ Up!®  Catalogues*. Simply use the buttons at the bottom of the post to keep hopping!

If you have arrived here from Mandy’s blog thank you for stopping by. If you just start here please keep “hopping” to see the inspiration from our little group. I’m sure you will enjoy what everyone prepared for you this time round.

I was really excited about this week’s sketch designed by Amy from blog Engineering Home. Not that it’s an easy one. Oh and it was her BIRTHDAY yesterday!!! Happy Birthday Amy! 🎉🎈🎉🎈🎉🎈

SKETCH 2

This time I decided to go with Christmas theme. And yes I know there’s still a time for Christmas cards, but hey, you’ve got to start somewhere 🙂 So here’s my interpretation of this week’s brilliant sketch:

Peaceful Pines

I know that many cardmakers prefer ever-so-popular clean and simple style, but I’m a big fan of distressing. And in my card today I tried to incorporate both styles.

peaceful pines 3

Base of my card is Whisper White card stock. Slightly smaller panel of Mint Macaron measures 5″ x 3-3/8″. I knew this panel will be mostly covered but I wanted to add some interest to it. First I thought about dry embossing but it would be too busy for idea I had in my head. Instead I stamped some splotches with Gorgeous Grunge in Mint Macaron for subtle tone-on-tone look.

Distressed panel is piece of white woodgrain patterned paper from Color Me Irresistible Specialty DSP. This paper is amazing, as each sheet is clear embossed, ready for inking, sponging, spritzing – getting messy in short 🙂 For my panel I used so called ink smooshing technique.

peaceful pines 4.2 peaceful pines 4 peaceful pines 4.1

I squeezed Tip Top Taupe ink pad on sleek surface (you can use acetate or craft sheet), spritz it with water and swooshed my paper into this puddle of colour. I added ink and water until achieved the look I wanted. I love how embossing resist the colour. When paper was dry I stamped few splotches from Gorgeous Grunge and distressed and sponged the edges. Just a warning, this technique will warp your paper so you have to be careful, or use watercolour paper.

Peaceful Pines 3

To create my tag I cut a piece of Whisper White card that measures 2″ x 4″ and punch it with Ornate Tag Topper punch. Then I dabbed the edges in Versamark and heat emboss it with gold embossing powder.

I stamped Christmas tree from Peaceful Pines stamp set in Versamark on piece of Tip Top Taupe card stock. I heat embossed it with Heat & Stick powder and when it got sticky I sprinkled gold glitter over it (I must say that I’m in love with Gold Stampin’ Glitter). Then I die cut it using coordinating framelits. I also die cut half of tree from Whisper White and Mint Macaron to layer them together. When tree was ready I assemble my tag and finish it with piece of ribbon and bakers twine. Finally I could assemble my card. Now just sentiment left.

Peaceful Pines 2

Sentiment comes from Flurry of Wishes stamp set. I embossed it in gold on strip of vellum and attached to my card with edges of dimensionals (folded in half). To finish it off I coloured two White Perfect Accents using  gold Sharpie and added them where adhesive was 🙂 Taa-daah!

I truly hope you like this  project and that I inspired you to try some of the techniques I’ve used. As always, if you wish to purchase any of the products I have used, simply click the images below to go direct to my online shop and don’t forget to enter the hostess code for the month of November YGN2KQE3 (you can always find it on the top right corner of this blog). I’ve got some awesome sause goodies for those who use it (check the details below or read HERE).

Now, be sure to hop along and see more inspiring projects. Your next stop is Suzanne at Hullahbaloo. Thank you for stopping by and have a blessed day!

Anna xx

SSSC Previous  SSSC Next Blog

Price: £99.00

Supply List

Built for Free Using: My Stampin Blog

NOVEMBER SPECIAL! Free pack of brand new shiny Reindeer Paper Clips Embellishments. My exclusive special offer this month only, available on qualifying orders (check below) placed through my shop.

rendeer paper clips

How it works…

  1. Place an order of £50 or more (excl. shipping) in my online store. It can include products from both catalogues: Annual Catalogue and Autumn/Winter Catalogue, Weekly Deals or/and Clearance Rack.
  2. Add Hostess Code YGN2KQE3. It’s very important: To claim your reward you must include this code in your ordering process. Once your order go through it can’t be changed. If your order is over £150 (excl. shipping) please do not use Hostess Code – you will qualify for free pack of Reindeer Paper Clips Embellishments automatically as well as earn Host Rewards.
  3. This November Special offer will be applied to all qualifying orders placed through me using Hostess Code YGN2KQE3 between 1 November – 30 November.
  4. Your reward will be mailed separately from any order (it won’t arrive with your Stampin’ Up! order) and should arrive in first 2 weeks of December.

hostess code

One more thing! Make sure you select YES to allow me to contact you and send a gift. If you select “No Contact” I do not have access to your name and won’t be able to send you a gift even if you use Hostess Code!

Allowing contact box

Status

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mandy makes and mends
    Nov 07, 2015 @ 10:03:41

    Love it ania great interpretation x

    Like

    Reply

  2. Angelina
    Nov 07, 2015 @ 11:18:10

    Nice card Anna, loving the colour combo and effects.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Charley Zak
    Nov 07, 2015 @ 12:29:45

    love it!!!! x

    Like

    Reply

  4. StampinbyHannah
    Nov 07, 2015 @ 12:39:54

    I love a good grungy card!
    x

    Like

    Reply

  5. craftydreamer13
    Nov 07, 2015 @ 15:16:21

    Very cute card! xx

    Like

    Reply

  6. Keren Howell
    Nov 07, 2015 @ 16:47:33

    Lik Hannah, I too love a grungy card. Great interpretation of the sketch! xx

    Like

    Reply

  7. Christine
    Nov 07, 2015 @ 20:19:34

    Love you design Anna, love your grunge effect.
    Christine xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow Anna' Stampin' Cave on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 236 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 78,349 hits

Disclaimer

All content on this blog is the the property of Anna Krol, Stampin' Up! Independent Demonstrator. Classes, services and products offered here are not endorsed by Stampin' Up! Projects, photos, ideas and articles are shared for personal use only and may not be removed duplicated, or copied without permission.
