Last Minute Birthday Card For Someone Special – My Mum

Hello beautiful people! How was your weekend. Mine was pretty awesome! My mum has a birthday party at the weekend and finally I could see my sisters new home in full glory too! Well, there’s still some work to do but we’ve finished the flooring two weeks ago and she moved in week ago, so it’s nice to see things slowly comes together 🙂 Oh, and we get the keys for our home yesterday!!! Yupi!!!

home sweet home

But now lets get back to my mum’s b-day card. Some of you know I fight with MS – it will be two years in January since diagnosis. The symptoms were not that severe but since few weeks I suffer from muscle weakness. I was hoping it will pass but doesn’t seem so. And I really wanted to  make a birthday card for my mum. So on Friday I knew I have to come up with something easy enough for me to make but with a little WOW factor as it’s for my mum, right?! 🙂 And you know what? Heat embossing and watercolouring came with a rescue plan 😉

mama 6

This is the first time I’ve used “I Love Lace” background stamp from Stampin’ Up! When I first saw it in the catalogue I wasn’t really impressed as it’s not my style at all. But my lovely friend Linda inspired me with her masterpieces – guys you must check her facebook page Call Me Crafty – you’ll be speachless at all those beauties she creates. Tell her I’ve sent you 🙂 To make my card I’ve stamped “I love lace” in Versamark – don’t forget to use embossing buddy first to take the static out off your card stock. Then I cover it well with clear embossing powder and heat it with heat gun. And now the fun begun – watercolouring. For the background I chose Calypso Coral, Strawberry Slush and Blushing Bride ink pads. I spritz my heat embossed piece with water and using paint brush applied the colours. I just love how the colours mixed nicely through the water – makes really beautiful background for my card.

mama 3

To keep the balance the rest of the card is quite simple. For the sentiments and flowers I’ve used Smoky Slate ink pad. Larger flower comes from Petite Petals stamp set – I’ve used coordinating punch. Small flowers are punched using flower punch from Itty Bitty Accents punch pack. Edges are sponged with Smoky Slate of course. “For my wonderful mother” comes from our sadly retired stamp set Delightful Dozen.

mama 1

For the “main” sentiment I’ve used Happy Birthday to you from Label Love. I’ve backed the sentiment with piece of Smoky Slate card stock. Both, sentiment and the backing, has been punched using Artisan Label punch. I was really pleased how the card slowly take it’s shape. For the banners I’ve cut three stripes of Whisper White card stock: 1 1/2″, 1″ and 3/4″ wide. But I didn’t like them plain so each one has been embossed with different embossing folder. I’ve used Chevron, one of the Delicate Designs and Decorative Dots Embossing Folders. Then trimmed them all at different lenght with scissors and voila! 😀 Due to the weight of embossed piece I’ve used a sticky strip to assemble the card, banners and one of the sentiments too; glue dots for flowers and dimensionals for the main sentiment.

mama 6

I don’t have to say my mum loved the card 🙂 But how about you? Do you like it? Please leave your comments below or message me at anna.krol75@gmail.com

Thank you for stopping by,

Ania xx

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Parker
    Oct 21, 2014 @ 17:15:33

    I think it is super special Ania x and thank you so much for the mention XXXX

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow Anna' Stampin' Cave on WordPress.com

Anna’s Stampin’ Cave

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 70,393 hits

Disclaimer

All content on this blog is the the property of Anna Krol, Stampin' Up! Independent Demonstrator. Classes, services and products offered here are not endorsed by Stampin' Up! Projects, photos, ideas and articles are shared for personal use only and may not be removed duplicated, or copied without permission.
